I have been called a "know-it-all" only once in my life. That one time was from someone i love dearly, and it hit me hard. I never thought of myself as a "know-it-all". I am nothing like Hermione Granger, which is who comes to mind when I think of this title.
In school, when a teacher asked a question, and i knew the answer, I did not raise my hand and answer the question. I always figured that although i was 99% sure i had the answer right, there was always a chance that i had it wrong, and I didn't want to prove to anyone how stupid i was if i answered it wrong. But 9 times out of 10 - I had it right all along. Then the ONE TIME i decided to answer the teacher, i would get it wrong.
So i quickly became the kid that rarely rose her hand, b/c i never knew if i was right. I have felt that way all my life. So when someone says that I am a "know-it-all", I get really confused.
Then a few days ago i was randomly pondering about this, and i had an "AH HAH" moment - "LIGHTBULLLLLB!!".
It is NOT that I am a "know-it-all" it is that I have such a high amount of empathy and compassion that when I hear others talking trash, or complaining, or talking negative about someone or something - i feel that i have to "fix the facts" or throw in my 2 cents to get these people to think again.
People get so bent out of shape about stuff without even knowing what is going on. So if i happen to know what is going on, i will fix the facts so that they understand more, and they can stop being bent out of shape. Or maybe they trash talk someone, i will set the story straight if i know the truth behind it. I am not trying to be a know-it-all. I am trying to open my empathetic and compassionate heart to help other open their eyes and minds. Maybe it is because I have something to say about everything, well that is a different situation that i need to fix. I am trying to say less, listen more.
No comments:
Post a Comment